New Patient Information
Contact Us With Questions
New Patient Application
How To Become a Medical Marijuana Patient in Vermont
We are here to help answer questions you may have on the way to becoming a registered medical marijuana patient. Once registered you’ll have safe access to the highest quality, lab tested marijuana products in Vermont.
Since Vermont legalized medical marijuana in 2004 and the dispensary program in 2011, thousands of Vermonters have joined the registry in support of using medical marijuana as a safe alternative to traditional pharmaceuticals. On-going research combined with patient-tailored consulting has elevated the use of marijuana from counter-culture to a respected alternative symptom relief method for a large range of medical conditions. With state regulated dispensaries ensuring patient confidentiality, a diverse range of products offering alternative ingestion methods for those unable, or uninterested in smoking and home delivery services for those in need, the Vermont medical marijuana program aims to help all those who qualify.
1. You must be a Vermont resident
2. Consult Your health care professional
Work with your health care professional to see if medical marijuana might be right for you. Not all health care professionals are fully informed or supportive of marijuana for medical use so you may have to consider a second opinion or visit a Naturopathic Doctor who is more aware of plant-based medicine and can determine if medical marijuana is right for your condition. You do need to be an established patient for at least three months, receive written approval, and suffer from an approved medical condition. These conditions include a disease/condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following symptoms: cachexia or wasting syndrome; chronic pain; severe nausea; or seizures. Those suffering from cancer, glaucoma, multiple sclerosis, HIV, AIDS and terminal illness are also eligible to apply to use medical marijuana.
3. Register with the Vermont Marijuana Registry
You’ll need to complete an application to become a registered patient with the Vermont Marijuana Registry. It takes up to 30 days to process an application, and it will require a $50 application fee. Once approved, your registration is good for one year.
4. Choose a Vermont dispensary
Under Vermont law, you can only select one designated dispensary. We can help if you have questions.
5. Make an appointment with your designated dispensary
Simply contact your dispensary and set up an appointment. You’ll need to bring 3 items to the appointment: your Medical Marijuana ID Card, a government issued photo ID, and a lock box for safely transporting your medicine. Please contact us if you have any questions.